Hawaiian Bros Commits to 52 Florida Stores in Single Franchise Deal
Hawaiian Bros signs a 52-store Florida franchise deal, with 24 locations due in three years across Orlando, Jacksonville, Gainesville and Tampa.
Hawaiian Bros has signed a 52-store development agreement for Florida, its largest disclosed commitment to a single franchisee in one state. The deal obligates the newest franchise partner to open 24 locations within the first three years, spanning Orlando, Jacksonville, Gainesville and Tampa.
That is the concrete core of the announcement. The rest is the standard arithmetic of fast-casual expansion: a development schedule, a territory, and a brand betting that plate lunch (Hawaiian-style comfort food built around rice, protein and macaroni salad) travels well beyond its home region.
What does the deal actually cover?
The agreement gives one franchisee rights across four Florida markets. The buildout schedule is front-loaded in commitment terms: 24 units in 36 months, with the remaining 28 stores to follow over the life of the contract. The source does not disclose the total term length, franchise fees, or average unit volumes for the brand.
For Hawaiian Bros, the structure matters more than the headline count. Multi-unit agreements of this size shift development risk and capital cost (the spend on construction, equipment and site acquisition for each new store) from the company to the franchisee. That is the standard trade: the franchisor grows its footprint and royalty base without funding the buildout itself.
Why Florida, and why now?
Florida is the default answer for growth-stage chains. The state's population growth feeds transaction volume, and its patchwork of metros — Orlando, Tampa, Jacksonville, Gainesville — lets a franchisee cluster supply chains and share marketing weight across a region rather than scattering units nationally.
For a plate-lunch concept, the operational logic is favorable. The menu is narrow, which keeps the cost of goods predictable and limits kitchen complexity; a tight ingredient set means fewer vendors and less waste per unit. That is the kind of menu engineering that makes a 24-store, three-year schedule plausible rather than aspirational.
Who carries the risk?
The franchisee does, in the usual way. Hawaiian Bros collects royalties and gains market presence. The franchisee signs leases, hires staff and absorbs the labor percentage (labor cost as a share of sales) that Florida's wage market imposes. The announcement does not detail who pays for any brand-mandated technology or buildout standards, and Hawaiian Bros' Florida base remains entirely franchised under this structure rather than company-operated.
The brand has not disclosed projected check averages or per-unit investment costs for the Florida stores. Those figures would tell observers whether the 52-store pledge reflects genuine unit economics or an ambitious territory grab by a franchisee betting on the state's growth.
What comes next?
The first openings will test the schedule. If the franchisee hits the 24-store, three-year mark, Florida becomes one of Hawaiian Bros' densest territories and a template for further large-market deals; if buildout lags, the agreement joins the long list of development pacts renegotiated quietly years later.
More from Rebecca Stone
Show full bio
Senior reporter covering technology and product news in Restaurant and hotel operations at The Pass Brief.
360 articles


