Development & Finance

Byron Reports £1.5m Loss as Burger Chain's Recovery Stalls

Byron has reported a £1.5m loss, The Caterer states. The figure comes without revenue, site counts, or a turnaround plan from owner Siad Holdings, raising questions.

Byron reports £1.5m loss - The Caterer
Byron reports £1.5m loss - The Caterer — AI-generated

Byron, the UK burger chain, has reported a £1.5m loss, according to The Caterer. The figure marks the latest financial setback for a brand that has changed hands repeatedly since its 2013 peak.

The disclosed number is the loss itself. The Caterer's report does not state the period the loss covers, the comparable prior-year result, or the chain's current revenue. That gap matters. A £1.5m loss on a large estate of company-operated sites reads very differently from the same figure on a shrunken portfolio.

What does the loss tell us about the operator?

Byron is no stranger to distress. The chain entered a pre-pack administration in 2018 under KPMG, closing sites and transferring ownership to Three Hills Capital Partners. It changed ownership again in 2020, when Siad Holdings took control after another insolvency process during pandemic closures.

Each restructuring cut the estate. The group that once operated dozens of restaurants now runs a far smaller number of sites, a mix of company-operated locations and concession formats. The Caterer's report does not break down how many units generated the £1.5m loss.

The loss figure also arrives without stated cost lines. UK burger operators have faced sustained pressure on beef and dairy input costs, energy charges, and front-of-house wages, including the rising National Living Wage. Which of these pressures drove the result is not disclosed.

What is not in the filing?

Several material facts are absent from the report:

  • The accounting period the £1.5m loss covers
  • Revenue or comparable turnover figures
  • Site count and split between restaurant and concession formats
  • Any statement on debt levels or shareholder support
  • Guidance on whether further closures or refinancing are planned

This thin disclosure invites caution. Owners of distressed chains often report losses alongside new funding or a turnaround plan. No such plan appears in the report.

Why the ownership history matters

Siad Holdings acquired Byron in 2020 through a second insolvency event in two years. Double distress typically leaves a business with fewer assets, tighter covenants, and a smaller management bench. A £1.5m loss under those conditions is a modest absolute figure, but it signals the turnaround has not yet produced sustained profitability.

The casual dining sector has shown mixed results since pandemic restrictions ended. Some chains, including Pizza Express and The Restaurant Group brands under new ownership, have returned to profit. Others continue to trade at a loss amid consumer spending pressure. Byron now sits in the second group, on the available evidence.

Whether the loss triggers restructuring depends on cash position and owner appetite, neither of which the report reveals. The next filing, or a statement from Siad Holdings, should clarify whether the brand is stabilising or heading toward a third insolvency event.

byroncasual-diningfinancial-resultsuk-restaurantsturnaround

More from Marcus Bennett

Marcus Bennett

Show full bio

Market editor covering technology and product news in Restaurant and hotel operations at The Pass Brief.

454 articles

Pairings

« Previous articleNext article »